1768 Haydn No. 26


1768 Joseph Haydn Symphony No. 26 ‘Lamentatione’
Instrumentation Strings and continuo, 2 oboes, 2 horns (and bassoon doubling bass line)
Movements I: Allegro (d) II: Adagio (F) III: Menuet (D)
Overview This symphony by Haydn is from the period of his composition often referred to as Sturm und drang, or ‘storm and stress’. Typical of such works are minor keys, syncopations and a generally stormy atmosphere.

Look at a score of this symphony / Watch on YouTube

Essay Points
A) Overall form Like many early symphonies, this work is in only three movements and ends with a minuet and trio.
F) Dev. of orchestra Back to Sinfonia a 8 configuraiton seen in Stamitz.
H) Drama / progr. The music of around this period has much in common with more obviously sturm und drang operas such as Mozart’s Idomeneo. This symphony is in a minor key with syncopations and leaping creating a very stormy atmosphere.

Listen to the beginning of the first movement:

Listen to the second subject of the first movement:

I) Melody / theme In a minor key like most sturm und drang works.
K) Rhythm Notice the syncopations that dominate the first movement.
%d bloggers like this: