Octatonic Scales for composition

[back to octatonic scales main page]

These are the three unique octatonic scales that you might use in a composition. As outlined on the main page there are interesting melodic and harmonic possibilities that arise.

  • all other octatonic use the notes of one or other of these starting in a different place.
  • octatonic scales are sometimes shown starting with a semitone but involve the same notes
  • as discussed on the main page, the scale is two minor scale segments but can also be understood as two interlocking diminished sevenths as shown here
  • underneath each scale are the some familiar functional chords (major, minor and dominant seventh) that can be used within the notes of this scale. You can, however, choose much less familiar chordal material if you wish – this is showing you possibilities not restrictions.

C octatonic


C# octatonic


D octatonic


%d bloggers like this: